Auspire – Australia Day Council WA, Community Citizen of the Year Awards are presented by Local Government within local communities across Western Australia. The Joint Patrons of the Community Citizen of the Year Awards are His Excellency the Honourable Chris Dawson AC APM Governor of Western Australia, and Mrs Darrilyn Dawson.

The Awards recognise individuals and organisations making a notable contribution during the current year, and/or to those who have given outstanding service over a number of years.

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, employment, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

We particularly encourage people and groups from diverse backgrounds to consider nominating, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, women, young people, those living with disabilities and people and groups from culturally diverse backgrounds.

How it works

The Community Citizen of the Year Awards Program is presented by Gold Members of Auspire – Australia Day Council WA. We invite all Western Australian Local Governments to become part of the program. To confirm if your council is participating, please go to the nominations page and select your Local Government area from the drop-down menu. If it’s not there, we encourage councils to contact us at 0499 111 944 to discuss becoming a member to gain access to the Award Program.

All nominations received before the close-off date are provided to the relevant Local Council for consideration and selection. All selections are made locally then coordinated by Auspire to arrange medallions and certificates.

Nominations open on 1 September and close on 31 October each year.

Nominations received after the closing date will be ineligible for consideration but may be held over for the following year’s campaign at the local council’s discretion.

Key Dates

  • 1 July – 1 September: Councils register their intention to participate.
  • 1 September: Nominations Open
  • 31 October: Nominations Close
  • November – December: Shortlisting and Selections (by local council selection panels)
  • January: Presentation of awards at local events

Principal Partner

Government of Western Australia Department of Communities

Media Partners

Proudly presented in partnership with Local Councils across Western Australia

shire of esperance

Assisted by the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council

Australia Day